Draft: not published. Every figure, grade and verdict is a placeholder until real plan data is added.

WP Engine Review (2026): Pricing and Limits

WP Engine's Essential plan starts at $35 a month with daily backups, staging and SSL listed. The trade-offs are that the discounted annual price lasts one year and the first tier is small, at 10 GB and 25,000 estimated visits.

Last checked Published Sources linked Written by Webhostwise Editorial Team

[Draft: the WP Engine data behind this page has not been verified by a human yet. Do not publish until human_verified is true.]

WP Engine review verdict

This WP Engine review is based on the host's public plan pages, checked 2026-10-21. It is not based on hands-on testing. WP Engine may suit a WordPress or WooCommerce store owner who wants backups and staging included and who is comfortable with a price that rises after year one. Look elsewhere if you want a stated money-back period: we found none in WP Engine's terms.

Visit WP Engine

WP Engine plans and limits

These are the four capacity tiers of WP Engine's Essential plan. WP Engine also lists Business and Enterprise plans, which have no public price for entry sizes, so we have not recorded them.

Billed monthly

Plan Intro price Renews at Visits / mo Storage PHP workers
Essential 1 site (25,000 visits) not stated by host $35/month 25,000 (estimate) 10 GB not stated by host
Essential 3 sites (75,000 visits) not stated by host $65/month 75,000 (estimate) 15 GB not stated by host
Essential 10 sites (100,000 visits) not stated by host $130/month 100,000 (estimate) 20 GB not stated by host
Essential 30 sites (400,000 visits) not stated by host $330/month 400,000 (estimate) 50 GB not stated by host

Source: host pricing page, checked .

Billed annually

Plan Intro price Renews at Visits / mo Storage PHP workers
Essential 1 site (25,000 visits) $336/year (first year) $420/year 25,000 (estimate) 10 GB not stated by host
Essential 3 sites (75,000 visits) $624/year (first year) $780/year 75,000 (estimate) 15 GB not stated by host
Essential 10 sites (100,000 visits) $1,248/year (first year) $1,560/year 100,000 (estimate) 20 GB not stated by host
Essential 30 sites (400,000 visits) $3,168/year (first year) $3,960/year 400,000 (estimate) 50 GB not stated by host

Source: host pricing page, checked .

On annual billing, the first-year price is a new-customer discount (the page applies a 20% coupon), and "renews at" shows the page's regular price for the same tier. Visit figures are WP Engine's estimates. "Not stated by host" means the pricing page does not give the figure.

What these limits mean for a store

Take an illustrative store with 40,000 visits a month and 12 GB of product images and files. These numbers are an example, not a recommendation.

  • The 1 site tier lists 25,000 estimated visits and 10 GB, so the example store does not fit.
  • The 3 sites tier lists 75,000 estimated visits and 15 GB, so on the published figures it fits, at $65 a month billed monthly.

WP Engine defines how visits and storage are counted. Check its definitions before relying on these figures.

Source: host pricing page, checked .

What WP Engine costs over three years

We use the same method on every host: listed prices, unchanged, with no tax. WP Engine's annual first-year price is a discount, so years two and three use the listed regular price.

Essential, 1 siteHow it is worked outThree-year total
Billed monthly 36 months at $35 $1,260
Billed annually $336 in year one, then $420 a year $1,176

The first-year discount is $84, or 20% of the regular price. After that, annual billing is $420 a year on the listed price, and the page says renewal pricing is subject to change, so check it again before each renewal.

Source: host pricing page, checked .

Store features

BackupsDaily automated backups; backups kept no less than 30 and no longer than 60 days
Staging1-Click staging and dev. environments
SSLFree auto-renewing SSL and SSH access
Object cachenot stated by host
PHP workersnot stated by host

Source: host pricing page, checked .

Support, refunds and cancellation

WP Engine's plans page lists 24/7 chat support on Essential. [Human check: this statement is not in the data files yet.]

On renewal, WP Engine's terms of service say the agreement renews automatically for terms equal to the previous one unless you give notice no later than 30 days before the term ends. The terms offer a prorated refund of unused annual fees if WP Engine ends the agreement for convenience. We found no money-back window. [Human check: confirm whether WP Engine publishes a separate refund policy.]

Source: WP Engine terms of service, checked .

Where WP Engine falls short

  • The discounted annual price applies to the first year for new customers only, and renewal pricing is subject to change (pricing page).
  • The entry tier lists 10 GB of storage and 25,000 estimated visits, which is small for a growing store (pricing page).
  • PHP workers and object caching are not stated for Essential (pricing page).

Alternatives

See how WP Engine compares in Kinsta vs WP Engine, or read our Kinsta review, Cloudways review and guide to the best ecommerce hosting.

Common questions

How much does WP Engine cost?

WP Engine's Essential plan lists from $35 a month billed monthly for one site, or $336 for the first year on annual billing. The regular annual price is $420. Larger tiers cost more, up to $330 a month for 30 sites. Prices are in US dollars, and taxes may apply.

Does WP Engine's first-year discount last?

No. The pricing page says the first-year price applies to new customers on Essential plans only, and that renewal pricing is subject to change. Our data lists the regular annual price for one site at $420, against $336 in the first year, a gap of $84.

Does WP Engine include staging and backups?

WP Engine lists daily automated backups, kept for no less than 30 days and no longer than 60, plus one-click staging and development environments on its Essential plan. It also lists free SSL. It does not state PHP workers or object caching for Essential, so we show those as not stated by host.

[FAQ questions are provisional until People Also Ask questions are pulled for this keyword.]

Sources and update log

Update log. 2026-10-21: first draft written from the saved pages. Not yet fact-checked by a person.