Draft: not published. Every figure, grade and verdict is a placeholder until real plan data is added.

Best Ecommerce Hosting for Stores (2026)

Our best ecommerce hosting shortlist compares hosts for online stores on what they publish: price, storage, backups and staging. It covers two hosts so far, with more to follow.

Last checked Published Sources linked Written by Webhostwise Editorial Team

[Draft: the host data behind this page has not been verified by a human. Before publishing: cover at least the other Phase 1 hosts, decide the scoring formulas so hosts can be graded, and rewrite the quick answer if a ranking is made.]

Quick answer

Based on public plan pages checked 2026-10-21, we have recorded two hosts so far. Kinsta lists entry plans from $35 a month with staging and backups included. Cloudways lists server plans from $14 a month with staging and SSL included. We have not graded hosts yet, so we do not rank them.

Hosts compared so far

HostEntry planListed price StorageOur reviewVisit
Kinsta Launch $35/month 15 GB Kinsta review Visit Kinsta
Cloudways Basic Micro (1GB RAM) $14/month 25 GB Cloudways review Visit Cloudways

Source: Kinsta pricing page, checked .

Source: Cloudways pricing page, checked .

How we compared

Every figure comes from the host's own pricing page and terms, with a source link and the date we checked it. We do not estimate missing figures. Hosts will be graded with the fixed weights on our methodology page, but that scoring is not finished, so this page shows no grades or ranking.

Full comparison

FeatureKinstaCloudways
Plan comparedLaunchBasic Micro (1GB RAM, 1 vCPU)
Price, billed monthly$35/month$14/month
Introductory offer$0 for the first monthnot recorded yet
Price, billed annually$350/yearnot recorded yet
Storage15 GB25 GB
Visits per month75,000 (Kinsta's estimate)not recorded yet
Backups14 days backup retentionOn-demand or automated backups; offsite backup storage billed at $0.033/GB per server
StagingFree one-click staging environmentsFree staging environment, push live with one click
SSLFree SSL certificates with wildcard supportFree Let's Encrypt SSL certificates
Object cachenot stated by hostObject Cache Pro free on a 4GB server or above
PHP workersnot stated by hostnot stated by host

Source: Kinsta pricing page, checked .

Source: Cloudways pricing page, checked .

[Human check: "not recorded yet" means the figure is not in our data files, not that the host omits it.]

Kinsta

The first month is listed as $0 on monthly plans, then $35 a month. The entry plans list 14 days backup retention, free staging and free SSL. Storage on the two plans we recorded is 10 GB and 15 GB. Read the full Kinsta review for limits, the three-year cost and the terms.

Cloudways

Cloudways lists 12 server plans from $14 to $967 a month, priced by server size. Staging and SSL are listed in every plan, and Object Cache Pro is listed as free on servers with 4GB of RAM or more, from $54 a month in our data. Offsite backup storage is billed on top. Read the full Cloudways review for the plans and costs.

Best ecommerce hosting: how to choose by store situation

Ecommerce hosting for a small store

Start from your numbers: how many gigabytes your store files take up and how many visits you expect. Kinsta lists 15 GB of storage and an estimated 75,000 visits a month on Launch. Cloudways lists 25 GB on its smallest server and does not use visit caps in the figures we recorded.

Ecommerce WordPress hosting

Both hosts we have recorded sell WordPress hosting. We have not yet compared WooCommerce-specific features, so see our WooCommerce hosting page once it is published.

Hosting for a store that is growing

Cloudways lets you move up through server sizes, with storage from 25 GB to 400 GB across the plans we recorded. Kinsta also sells larger plans that we have not recorded yet.

Decision guide by store size and platform

If your store needsLook atBecause the listed figures show
Up to 15 GB of files on one WordPress site, with backups and staging in the plan price Kinsta Launch 15 GB, 14 days backup retention, free staging, from $35/month
The lowest listed monthly price Cloudways Basic Micro $14/month with 25 GB of disk
Object Cache Pro included Cloudways, 4GB servers and up Free on 4GB of RAM or more, from $54/month

These rows cover WordPress and WooCommerce stores only. The hosts here are not built for Shopify or other hosted platforms, where hosting is part of the plan. [Human check: confirm this statement before publishing.]

What hosting costs after year one

Introductory offers fade, so compare what you pay over time. We use one method for every host: the listed price, unchanged, with no tax and no promotions.

PlanYear oneThree years
Kinsta Launch, billed monthly$385$1,225
Kinsta Launch, billed annually$350$1,050
Cloudways Basic Micro$168$504
Cloudways Basic Small$336$1,008

In our data, neither host lists a higher price after the first period than its entry price. The only introductory offer we recorded is Kinsta's free first month. Cloudways also advertises a limited-time discount that we have not recorded. Prices can change, so check each host before you buy.

Source: Kinsta pricing page, checked .

Source: Cloudways pricing page, checked .

Common questions

What is the best ecommerce hosting?

We cannot name a best host yet. We have recorded plan data for two hosts and have not graded them. Choose by the limits that matter to your store: storage, backups, staging, and what the price becomes after the first period. The comparison table on this page shows those figures with their sources.

How much does ecommerce hosting cost?

In the two hosts we have recorded, entry plans list from $14 a month at Cloudways to $35 a month at Kinsta. Larger plans cost more, up to $967 a month for Cloudways' biggest server. Prices are in US dollars and exclude tax.

What should I check before choosing ecommerce hosting?

Check the storage allowance against the size of your store files, whether backups and a staging site are included, the price after any introductory offer, and the refund and cancellation terms. Each host's own terms of service state the last two, so read them before you pay.

[FAQ questions are provisional until People Also Ask questions are pulled for this keyword.]

Sources and update log

Update log. 2026-10-21: first draft written from the recorded host data. Not yet fact-checked by a person.